Children’s feet – Children’s shoes

Science for everyday life

How much room does a foot need in the shoe?

12 mm is the minimum clearance a shoe should be longer than the foot. We know from research that the feet of 3-6 year old children grow about 1 mm per month (length). Seen in this way, shoes with 12 mm clearance would be too short again after just one month.
That’s why we asked ourselves what maximum margin we can recommend so that the shoes fit for a few months. During children’s foot measurement days, we always had children with us who wore quite long shoes. We discovered that a 17 mm clearance can easily be recommended as the maximum clearance.

When does my child need their first shoes?

Take your time with the first shoes! Just because the little feet are already tapping around doesn’t mean that you should get shoes. Small feet develop best without shoes.

Buying children's shoes online: what's the best way to do it?

Again and again parents tell us how difficult it is to buy children’s shoes online: Because the shoe sizes of children’s shoes are usually wrong and we found deviations of up to 5 sizes in our studies, parents usually order several shoe sizes in the online shop. And when you are lucky enough to fit a pair, the others have to be sent back. How to buy suitable children’s shoes online:

Plus 12: So that children’s shoes fit!

plus12socks: in line with your feet

News from the kids feet-kids shoes team

Press releases, new research results & tips about children’s shoes

Barefoot during lockdown

Barefoot during lockdown

Are you careful about selecting well-fitting children’s shoes to keep feet healthy? That's good, but there’s something even better. A new study shows that going barefoot has more benefits than previously suspected. In Japan, a team of Austrian researchers were told,...

read more
Kids’ shoes: Girls win, boys lose

Kids’ shoes: Girls win, boys lose

The majority of children wear shoes that are too short for their feet. The Austrian research team “Children’s Feet – Children’s Shoes” and the regional insurance provider Gebietskrankenkasse Salzburg investigated how to improve this situation, and the results were...

read more

The book

Children’s feet – children’s shoes

Everything you need to know about little feet and shoes.

ISBN 3-00-005879-6

3rd edition 2005, 54 pages, bound

kinderfüsse – Kinderschuhe

Wissenschaft für den alltag

Wie viel Spielraum braucht ein Fuß im Schuh?

12 mm sind der Mindest-Spielraum um den ein Schuh länger sein sollte als der Fuß. Aus Untersuchungen wissen wir, dass die Füße von 3-6 jährigen Kindern etwa 1 mm pro Monat wachsen (Länge). So gesehen wären Schuhe mit 12 mm Spielraum schon nach einem Monat wieder zu kurz.
Deshalb haben wir uns gefragt, welchen Maximal-Spielraum wir empfehlen können, damit die Schuhe ein paar Monate passen. Bei Kinderfuß-Messtagen hatten wir dann auch immer wieder Kinder dabei, die ziemlich lange Schuhe trugen. Dabei entdeckten wir, dass ein 17 mm Spielraum ohne weiteres als Maximal-Spielraum empfohlen werden kann.

Wann braucht mein Kind die ersten Schuhe?

Lassen Sie sich mit den ersten Schuhen Zeit! Nur weil die kleinen Füße schon herumtappsen, ist das noch lange kein Grund, Schuhe zu besorgen. Kleine Füße entwickeln sich ohne Schuhe am Besten.

Kinderschuhe online kaufen: Wie macht man das am besten?

Immer wieder berichten uns Eltern, wie beschwerlich es ist, Kinderschuhe online zu kaufen: Weil die Schuhgrößen von Kinderschuhen meistens falsch sind und wir bei unseren Studien Abweichungen bis zu 5 Größen festgestellt haben, bestellen Eltern im online-shop meist mehrere Schuhgrößen. Und wenn man dann das Glück hat, dass ein Paar passt, müssen die anderen wieder zurückgeschickt werden. So kaufen Sie online passende Kinderschuhe:

plus 12: Damit Kinderschuhe passen!

plus12socks: einfach nur gerade

Neuigkeiten vom Team Kinderfüße-Kinderschuhe

Pressetexte, neue Forschungsergebnisse & Tipps rund um Kinderschuhe

Von Socken, die zu Füßen passen

Von Socken, die zu Füßen passen

Was glauben Sie: Sind Füße in Socken kürzer oder länger als barfuß? Länger, sollte man meinen, da ja zur Fußlänge noch die Materialdicke der Socken hinzukommt.

mehr lesen

Das Buch

Kinderfüße-Kinderschuhe

Alles Wissenswerte rund um kleine Füße und Schuhe.

ISBN 3-00-005879-6

3. Auflage 2005, 54 Seiten, gebunden